2 Days Until Seminole Football

***No player has worn #2 since 1997 because of…***

#2 – Deion Sanders

Cornerback – 6’0″ 195lbs – 1985-1988

Deion Sanders was a 6’0″ 195 lbs cornerback out of Fort Myers, FL. Sanders was named to at least one 1st Team All-American list in 3 of his 4 years in Tallahassee and was a 2-Time Consensus All-American in ’87 and ’88. Elected to the FSU Hall of Fame in 1994, Sanders was the Noles first Jim Thorpe Award winner given to the nation’s best defensive back. With blazing speed, great instincts, and an often overlooked work ethic, Sanders blanketed receivers and became the prototypical cover corner. For his career, he is 3rd in FSU history with 14 interceptions with 4 of those picks being returned for a touchdown – an FSU record. He also holds the record for longest INT return with a 100 yarder against Tulsa in 1985. In addition to his exploits on defense, Sanders is the career record holder in punt return yardage and is tied with several Noles for the most punt returns for TDs with 3.

After college, “Prime Time” was selected with the 5th overall pick by the Atlanta Falcons and a 30th round pick by the New York Yankees. Sanders had a long successful career in the NFL playing 14 seasons. He was a 8 time Pro-Bowler and the 1994 NFL Defensive MVP. Sanders finished his career with 53 interceptions and scored 10 defensive TDs. In 1996 he became the first 2 way player in quite some time lining up at WR and CB for Dallas in 16 games. He finished the year with a respectable 36 catches for 475 yards and 1 TD. In all, Sanders would score 22 TDs in his career via interception return, fumble return, receiving, kickoff return, and punt return. He was elected into the NFL Hall of Fame in 2011. Although never fully immersing himself in baseball, Sanders still had a respectable 9 year career in the Majors. In probably his best year, Sanders helped lead the Atlanta Braves to the ’92 World Series hitting .304 with 8 HRs and leading the league in triples with 14 while swiping 26 bases.

#2 In History

Reggie Webb (80)
Steve Nicklaus (81, 82, 83, 84)
Ronnie Andrews (85)
Patrick White (85)
Deion Sanders (86, 87, 88)
Eric Turral (89)
Clifton Abraham (90, 91, 92, 93, 94)
Samari Rolle (84, 95, 96, 97)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Authenticate *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>